The Crow

This week’s poetry post is simple. I wanted to share something I wrote a while back, only to recently learn something according to the Native American zodiac. I am the crow … (Or raven)

Happy writing!

The Crow

Nestled deep into the barn
The reddest railman rowing
Supped and dined the hogs he fed
And fodder his bestowing
Roosted roster rent an egg
A hen about her honey
When the farmer bent a leg
And did it for the money
Came a crow a cawing such
As I had ever seen
And would not lift a lilted perch
All feather down and sheen
A nagging caw he would not slow
No, not another tarry
Came to lit upon his limb,
No robin or canary
So I says to him, “suppose
You might be cackle cawing”
He in me agrees and sees-
The dog a bone a gnawing
Finger loosened lavishing
The lecture his beak billing
Tended not the sheep at all
For they were fat and filling
Till the wolf came ate them up
And tore a trim and tinder
Rowdy thing the bit it bring
A biting and a bender
Piggies squealing hog the ham
So I get up and wander
“Has the crow got loose a lamb
Or has he gone asunder”
Sloppy pot the crow disputes
Astutely he surrenders
Reaching for my apple pie
And lies in my suspenders
Scare crow dances on the wind
As off the crow a feather
Fair forewarned as I am dead
A reckoning the weather
Tether on the teething stove
The cove all pit and blow
And one last look I bait the hook,
For see, I am the crow

img_6028

Author: jamesmatthewbyers

James Matthew Byers resides in Wellington, Alabama with his wife, kids, a dog named after an elf, and two tortoises. He has been published in poetry journals and through Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, AL, where he received his Master's in 2010. His next epic poem, Beowulf: The Midgard Epic, will be published by Stitched Smile Publications, LLC in late 2017.

Leave a Reply

